Influence & Inspiration

My latest challenge for The Arcanum is to come up with 10 images (by at least 5 photographers) that influences or inspires my own work. This is a great way of looking outside of your own world and seeing into the eyes of another, it also inspires you to new genres, techniques or views.

So I thought I would start an irregular series on some of the artists and their images that inspire me.

My first inspiration and the one that got me in this mess in the first place:  Trey Ratcliff

An american now living in New Zealand, I first came across his work on a Tech Podcast of all things, nothing to do with photography, but it is the one moment I can remember when I said, “I want to do that”, and the rest is history.

You can find his work at www.stuckincustoms.com

Here are the two shots of his I have picked, some might say extreme, others might say not real, but it is art right, look at it , like it or don’t like it, it is your choice.

Image: Trey Ratcliff
Image: Trey Ratcliff

I like his ideas for People shots, They are not pure portrait, nor  traditional shots, but people in their places, their environments.  They invoke an emotion.  The use of unusual colour, texture and lighting in post processing is how these shots are achieved. They make me stare for a longer time than I would otherwise and that is the mark of a good shot in my book.

Image: Trey Ratcliff
Image: Trey Ratcliff

I like how he is not scared to experiment with texture, colour, and composition. The ability to pick interesting scenes and guide the viewer through the image. Some may say his earlier work is overcooked, but you know that was on trend for that time and art is subjective completely. This one holds me for the detail, the shadows, the play of light and the pure depth of the image. In my work I look for the unusual in this way.

I hope you will enjoy my look at other peoples work, and that it may inspire you too.

 

Leave a Reply

