The Lucky Country

The term is an affectionate nickname for Australia, but was actually born out of a less favourable quote from the book of the same name by Donald Horne in 1964.

“Australia is a lucky country run mainly by second rate people who share its luck. It lives on other people’s ideas, and, although its ordinary people are adaptable, most of its leaders (in all fields) so lack curiosity about the events that surround them that they are often taken by surprise.”

I do think things have changed since and many a notable Australian has made their mark on the world.

For my part, I feel extremely lucky to have been able to move to ‘The Lucky Country’ of Australia in 2001. The luck of my birth into a ‘free’ nation, the United Kingdom, allowing me freedom to choose, freedom to travel and indeed, freedom to leave, is not one afforded the vast majority of the world’s population.

I thank my Luck on a constant basis.

Image of the Day

The Lucky Country

This is a random image from my archive of a beautiful scene from the  island state of Tasmania, which I have had the privilege to have visited 3 times now, and will again, no doubt.

No real playing with this one in Lightroom, it is what it is, beautiful.  Just some sharpening, clarity and vibrance to enhance to beauty as I normally would with most of my images.

Tasmania
Tasmania

Click the image for a larger view.

 

 

Leave a Reply

