Shot Tower

Back in April of 2014 I graduated with a Diploma in Professional Photography, but my learning in this field of technical and creative endeavours will never end. I make a conscious effort to learn a new thing every day.

To help me with my ongoing development, I have become a member of The Arcanum. This organisation takes the theory of Master and Apprentice and applies it to the creative arts, Photography being one of its offerings. In fact, I completed my application nearly a year ago, and had actually forgotten about it for a while, then in November I was contacted by one of the ‘Masters’ to ask if I would like to be in his cohort. Each Master has a cohort of 20 apprentices and together we form a group of like minded people ready to absorb the experience of the master and in fact from each other. The live (and honest, but respectful) critiques of your work from a technical and creative standpoint from both sides is invaluable.

As you go through various challenges and learnings within The Arcanum you level up, a bit of game play there, and eventually you will reach a level where you can either apply to become a master yourself or go on to participate in more complex and personalised challenges either with your current master or even a new master to broaden your horizons.  I must say to date I have had a ball, and I am only on level 5.

This is me:

The Arcanum
The Arcanum

 

Image of the Day

Shot Tower

Coop’s Shot Tower is located in the heart of Melbourne, Victoria Australia. It was completed in 1888 and is 50 metres high. The historic building was saved from demolition in 1973 and was incorporated into Melbourne Central shopping complex in 1991 underneath an 84 m-high conical glass roof.

Coop’s Shot Tower is 9 storeys high, and has 327 steps to the top. The tower produced six tonnes of shot weekly up until 1961, when the demand for the lead shot dwindled, because of new firearm regulations. 

To do this structure any justice you need a wider angle lens that this 35mm, as there is very little space to physically retreat in the shopping centre, so I think I have done the best I can with the equipment I have.

In Lightroom, among other things I have used the Highlights and Shadows sliders to somewhat of an extreme to accentuate the brickwork and reduce the glare from the daylight beyond the glass roof.

35mm f/1.8, 1/125sec @ f/8, ISO720
35mm f/1.8, 1/125sec @ f/8, ISO720

Click the photo for a larger view.

 

3 Replies to “Shot Tower”

Leave a Reply

